Business Process Re-Engineering: The Enemy of Inertia, Waste and Consensus Complacency

Working with several governmental and non-profit agencies recently, I noticed a pattern emerging that is at once counter-productive and based entirely in fear. What I used to think of as intellectual sloth is giving way to wasteful complacency and what I choose to call a “consensus trance” resulting from fear of losing one’s job and identity. Who would have ever thought the BPM field would awaken so many strange psycho-social bedfellows?

Snap out of it!

I find that the best response to this trance is a tactic long employed by carnival hypnotists: snap people out of it. As an outside consultant, I have a responsibility to identify waste and recommend alternatives and solutions. In order to pull that off in an atmosphere of fear and economic uncertainty, I am resorting to a heightened assertiveness, directness and tough love. I have to point out that it is not simply a matter of process but a matter of organizational dynamics causing my clients pain. Morale is taking a direct hit as it often does when people aren’t performing in ways they know they could (given the opportunity) however, coddling people and enabling even sicker patterns to take root is not the answer.

“Will” the change you want to see in your organization

I am encouraging (if not demanding) that mid-level people and directors seek out more definitive executive sponsorship and greater political will power to enforce change initiatives. Slowly, it’s working. I am documenting decisions like never before so that I can hold people accountable. I am measuring project status at every turn. I am amending contracts wherever possible. None of this is fun but it is all so necessary. If you haven’t already done so, push hard on your Project Charter and Executive Sponsor. Then push even harder on Project Management and then hold people accountable with actual consequences.

Failure is not the end of the world

If your project fails, your process re-engineering efforts produce the wrong outcome, or people on your team fail to meet expectations, act accordingly and appropriately and move on. Dwelling on the fall-out right now will not help anyone. What we need is will, speed, and efficacy.

Let me know what works!

Leave a Reply

